Several winners from the 2015 season. The 2016 plaques will be awarded at the RAMS meet on March 26th, 2017. The final standings are listed below.

2016 Swimmer of the Year Details

Purpose: To encourage local meet participation and reward the swimmers most active in LMSC sanctioned competitions.

Award: Plaques will be awarded to the overall male and female swimmers as well as to the male and female winner in each official age group.

Restrictions: Contestants must be USMS registered, within the Niagara LMSC.

Time Frame: Contest will commence on January 1, 2016 and will include all Niagara LMSC sanctioned meets during the calendar year. Any disputes will be resolved by the LMSC Board of Directors.


Winners will be determined by point totals and Overall Male and Female are eliminated from their age group (no double dipping).

Points may be accumulated as follows:

  • 5 points for each officially sanctioned Niagara LMSC meet participated in
  • 1 point for each event entered and completed (excluding relays. no points for DQ or NS)

There is a two meet minimum requirement.

Tie breaker: In the event that more than one swimmer in any given age group or for overall Swimmer of the Year has accumulated the same number of points, the individual that has swam the most different events and distances shall be declared the winner. If needed, a second tie breaker will be determined based on the total distance of the events swum. (e.g. if swimmer #1 swam in two meets and the 100 butterfly both times and swimmer #2 swam in two meets and swam the 200 freestyle both times, then swimmer #2 would win).

Age group details – Points will accumulate in the competitor’s age group, as determined by USMS rules. LCM/SCM competitions: age of the swimmer is their age as of Dec 31st of that year. SCY the swimmer’s age is the (first) day of the competition. On a year where a swimmer is aging up, that person would tally points in two age groups. S/he would be eligible for the overall title with combined points, but in terms of winning an age group title, the points would be split. If a swimmer has the highest point totals in two age groups, they may win both.

Check back on the website periodically to check the standings and see if you are in the running for the Niagara LMSC Swimmer of the Year. The winners will be announced on the website in early 2017, along with the date and location for the presentation of awards.

Past winners:


About Niagara LMSC

The Niagara Local Masters Swim Committee (LMSC) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to a healthy swimming lifestyle for adult swimmers, within the Western NY region. The Niagara LMSC is the local governing body of U.S. Masters Swimming (USMS).

There are over 600 registered Masters Swimmers in Niagara and over 60,000 in USMS. Anyone 18 years of age or older is eligible to join. No prior competitive swimming experience is necessary.

©2017 Official website of the Niagara Local Masters Swim Committee, member of U.S. Masters Swimming. All Rights Reserved.