2022 Swimmer of the Year - Rankings through 4/23/2022 (Ithaca meet)

(Several winners from the 2015 season)

2022 Swimmer of the Year Details

COVID update: Due to lack of events, there will be no awards for the 2020 and 2021 seasons. We are hoping to have a full slate of events in 2022.

Purpose: To encourage local event participation and reward the swimmers most active in LMSC sanctioned/recognized competitions.

Award: Some physical prizes will be awarded each year, may include any of the following: plaques, trophies, caps, bags, etc.

Eligibility: Contestants must be USMS registered, with the Niagara LMSC. 

Time Frame: Contest will commence on January 1, 2022 and end on December 31, 2022.


Winners will be determined by point totals in each age group. The men and women with the most total points will also be the overall title winners.

Points may be accumulated as follows:

  • 5 points for each sanctioned and recognized Niagara LMSC event participated in
  • 1 point for each individual event entered and swum

There is a two event minimum requirement. Only Niagara LMSC sanctioned and recognized masters meets are counted. (NY Senior Games do not count because it is not inclusive of the 18-49 year old age ranges).

Age group details – Points will accumulate in the competitor’s age group, as determined by USMS rules. LCM/SCM competitions: age of the swimmer is their age as of Dec 31st of that year. SCY the swimmer’s age is the (first) day of the competition. On a year where a swimmer is aging up, that person would tally points in two age groups. S/he would be eligible for the overall title with combined points, but in terms of winning an age group title, the points would be split. If a swimmer has the highest point totals in two age groups, they may win both.

Tie breaker: In the event that more than one swimmer in any given age group or for overall Swimmer of the Year has accumulated the same number of points, the individual that has swum the most different events and distances shall be declared the winner. If needed, a second tie breaker will be determined based on the total distance of the events swum. (e.g. if swimmer #1 swam in two meets and the 100 butterfly both times and swimmer #2 swam in two meets and swam the 200 freestyle both times, then swimmer #2 would win).

Check back on the website periodically to check the standings and see if you are in the running for the Niagara LMSC Swimmer of the Year. The winners will be announced on the website in early 2023, along with the date and location for the presentation of awards.

Past winners:

About Niagara LMSC

The Niagara Local Masters Swim Committee (LMSC) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to a healthy swimming lifestyle for adult swimmers, within the Western NY region. The Niagara LMSC is the local governing body of U.S. Masters Swimming (USMS).

There are over 600 registered Masters Swimmers in Niagara and over 60,000 in USMS. Anyone 18 years of age or older is eligible to join. No prior competitive swimming experience is necessary.

Latest News

07 September 2022
12 April 2022

Google Translate